Sparta

Sparta

Ever since my year 8 history speech on Sparta, where I delivered a riveting synopsis of the film 300, in an attempt to hide the fact I’d done absolutely no research. I’ve had fascination with Spartan history.  For years, that film had been my primary source of information for Spartan history, and according to the marks given by my history teacher, it must of been sufficient, who was I to argue with a solid 8 out of 10. It wasn’t until recently, when I started playing the game ‘Total War: Rome 2’, that I began to learn a little more about the warrior culture. It was then I decided, perhaps basing my knowledge of Spartan history on an over dramatised Hollywood film, and a really awesome computer game was a little questionable. Although, we’ve had politicians here in Australia quote Wikipedia as a credible source, so maybe I wasn’t not that bad. I recently took the lazy approach, and learnt my history from documentaries. I learnt many interesting, gruesome and disturbing facts about this fierce warrior culture, for instance, homosexuality was enforced, and pedophilia was institutionalised (according to some sources). That  flew in the face of King Leonidas’s comment in the film 300, when he describes the Athenians as “boy lovers” in a derogatory  tone, as a means of belittling them. After doing bits of research, and conquering the world as Sparta in ‘Total War’, my interest turned into inspiration for a drawing. I created the initial drawing by hand sometime ago, but now that university is finished for the year, I’ve finally had time to digitise, and make the image blog ready. I haven’t done much to the original drawing besides making the black background, adding some text, and giving the white a subtle marble texture for an added ancient feel. Please enjoy the drawing, and remember, using a film ‘based on a true story’ for research only gets you good marks in school, if your teacher hasn’t already seen the film.

