Close your eye’s

20130924-171613.jpg

You may attempt to close your eyes to the past, grasping for a temporary escape, but the torture machine that is feelings and past regret never cease to rip your eyes open to reality. Acceptance is the bitter pill to transcendence. 

Here’s a little drawing I began on the train but was unable to finish due a disturbed old drug addict talking to himself. I  found what he was saying to be so interesting I stopped drawing and began to jot down some of his quotes on the side of the page. My first drawing related to those quotes can be found here.

This is the first pencil and pen drawing I’ve created for a while, plus it’s my first attempt at an eye with any form of detail. I usually stay away from any type of realism, particularly in the human form. This concept was conceived whilst listening to Bastille’s ‘Pompeii’. The line “But if you close your eyes” had particular resonance and influence on the final outcome of this piece. You may attempt to close your eyes to the past, grasping for a temporary escape, but the torture machine that is feelings and past regret never cease to rip your eyes open to reality. Acceptance is the bitter pill to transcendence.

